When you delete a directory, all of its subdirectories and files are deleted.
| Menu: | Files/Delete... |
| Context menu: | Right-click selected files and directories and choose Delete. |
| Shortcut key: | F8 or Delete |
| Toolbar: | Choose the Delete button on the Top, Middle, or Bottom toolbar. |
Files and directories may either be removed from your disk immediately when you delete them or be stored in the Recycle Bin. See Configuration/Recycle Bin.
If you use the F8 or Delete key with the Shift modifier, you reverse the use of the Recycle Bin (if the Delete key does not send files to the Recycle Bin, Shift+Delete does, and vice versa).
With a file panel focused, press Ctrl+Z or choose Edit/Undo to undo the latest file operation recorded by the Windows shell, such as deleting files into the Recycle Bin. The menu names the available action (for example, Undo Delete) and is disabled when there is nothing to undo or Sally has a disk operation running. Windows shares this history with File Explorer, so the latest action may have happened there. Permanent deletion cannot be restored this way. Sally's own copy, move, rename, archive and plugin operations do not all use this history.
The Windows shell may offer permanent deletion when it cannot recycle an item, including some long paths. Cancel that warning if you need to keep the item recoverable; Ctrl+Z cannot restore a permanently deleted file.
In the command line or a text field, Ctrl+Z continues to undo text editing. If there is no text edit to undo, it does nothing to files. The Edit/Undo menu follows the same focus context.
On drives formatted to use the Windows NT file system (NTFS), you must have permission to delete a file or directory.